What happens when I link a folder from a cloud storage service to a Workplace group?

When you link a folder from a cloud storage service to a Workplace group the following will happen:
  • The folder will appear in the Files tab of your group and will show all the files (and subfolders) within the linked folder.
  • A panel will appear to the right of your group's homepage that shows the most-recently updated files in the linked folder.
  • An icon for the service will appear in the group's composer on web and mobile for all group members. Clicking this icon will open a window that lets group members browse their files and folders in the cloud storage service so they can easily share them in posts to the group.
  • Members of the group will only see the folder content if they already have access in the cloud storage service.
  • When people share a link to a file or folder from a cloud storage service, Workplace will attempt to render a preview of the file or document. For content that isn't visible to everyone in your organization, people will be asked to connect their Workplace account to the cloud storage service so Workplace can determine if they have permission to view the content.
Was this information helpful?